Our eighteen year old son, Tristan, challenged his older brother and me to delete social media from our phones for a month. He follows YouTube channel YesTheory and had watched one of their episodes concerning the addiction of social media.

I quickly realized how much time I’d been wasting on it, habitually checking FB and Instagram multiple times a day. What’s interesting is I really haven’t missed it. I’m not planning on completely deleting my accounts yet as I like to see my children and grandchildren’s posts and keep in touch with people I rarely see, but I am going to keep from downloading the apps again. My anxiety level has lowered and my mental focus is noticeably better. I highly recommend watching YesTheory’s post concerning social media and giving it a rest. It’s been a beautiful experience to concentrate on more important things and just be.

Be in the moment, be present, be with the ones I love, be relaxed. I’ve also taken a break from blogging, and have enjoyed listening to podcasts like Richard Rohr’s Another Name For Everything, Ian Cron’s Typology, and James Bryan Smith’s Things Above. Podcast’s focused on living in the now, be-ing, focusing on the ever-present sacred, thinking on things above. We don’t need to constantly do, mindlessly react. Taking a step back and reevaluating what we’re focusing our attention on is an invaluable decision. Not only am I more attentive to the present, I am more grateful for all I have.

Leave a comment