Jesus said, “Why do you call me good? No one is good—except God alone.”
‭‭Mark‬ ‭10:18‬ ‭

We all are a blending of good and bad choices, traits, intentions, habits, reactions, yet our nature is to hide the bad, the wrong, the ugly. We parade the good because it makes us feel better about ourselves of course, but it creates a false image that takes more and more energy to keep intact.  So many of us waste so much time and energy trying to keep our masks on when we need to take them off and accept our real selves underneath.

If I make a negative but true statement about myself or my loved ones it does not negate the positive. I’ve been around many people who immediately become uncomfortable when I mention something I don’t do well. Almost always they say, “Oh no that’s not true, you’re great at such and such…” when we both know it’s a bold faced lie. I’m comfortable with the fact that I’m not good at some things, in fact, I’m even TERRIBLE at certain things. So many of us avoid facing our weaknesses and failures and in turn we totally allow them to control us. I have found in my own life when I deny the uglier parts of me, I begin to spend more energy on that denial. It actually takes more effort to lie to myself and continue to hold the closet door shut on the many skeletons I’ve tried to hide. Those dry bones pile up with the years spent trying to deny them, and the lids and doors on the boxes and closets we keep them in begin to pop open.  They must be acknowledged, examined, and pulled out into the light of truth.

What we need to begin to understand is truth strengthens us…though it is hard to face. When we avoid facing truth, it becomes our deepest fear. It seems like a hungry lion tracking our every move. The irony is that we spend years running, hiding, not realizing if we would just take the time and be bold enough to face it, examine it, and learn from it, it is merely a kitten with a big scary-looking shadow.

What fear, what truth have you been avoiding? Turn around and stand your ground. You’re stronger and braver than you think. Jesus often talked in parables and had multifaceted meanings in His words. In John 8:32 he said, “Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”

Leave a Reply

